1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Sony 775 SACD setup

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by EarleD, May 15, 2002.

  1. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using a Outlaw ICBM with my 775. Should I set the 775 to Direct or 5 large + SW?

    Thanks

    Earle
     
  2. Matthew Anker

    Matthew Anker Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use direct, because if you acivate those signal processors you will lose part of the sound. You are better off to run everything direct and control using analog preamps.
    -Matthew Anker
    www.SACDmods.com
     
  3. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Matt.
     
  4. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same setup, but if I run direct, I loose the level settings! Since the ICBM has no level settings I had to run with 5 large + SW.
     
  5. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Westley,

    What receiver are you using? Im using a 3802 and I just balanced the levels using the reicevers internal test tones. I can swear that the ext inputs levels changes when using the recievers channel balance.

    Earle
     
  6. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Sony STR-DA777ES Receiver and use an Outlaw ICBM for bass management on DVD-A and SACD.

    For multi-channel SACD you must use the 5.1 inputs. The 5.1 inputs bypass the receivers AD & DA's and processors. Most receivers 5.1 inputs bypass everything except the main volume control and mine is no different. If they don't, you loose the quality SACD or DVD-A offer because the receiver doesn't have 192/24 DA's or DSD DAC's. This means the analog sound from the SACD or DVD-A would be converted to standard resolution digital (Likely 48/16-20) for processing and then back to analog, rendering it no better then PCM DVD at best.
     
  7. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Westly

    I was just checking out some things on my reciever. I have the tone controls bypassed and the receiver set to ext inputs.

    I CAN adjust the channel levels individually by using the receivers level controls. For example, on the Denon 3802 pressing enter one time lets you adjust the FL, 2 times the Center, etc. I dont think I am doing anything wrong in the way I have the equipment set up.

    I cant believe that the 3802 isnt capable of passing a high resolution audio signal.

    Any thoughts??

    Earle
     
  8. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got off the phone with Denon and they verified that on the 3802, all settings are bypassed when you use the 5.1 (Denon had 8 for future use) inputs. The tech said the only thing that is affected on these inputs is the master volume. No separate level control is available for the analog inputs, only for DSP modes and Digital input sources.
     

Share This Page