Sony 4ES and Pronto? Will it work?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Stephen Hopkins, Feb 26, 2003.

  1. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just ordered a Sony 4ES and Pronto w/ rechargeable battery and base station. Now that i'm seeing how much the 4ES remote system depends on OSD and possibly the remote's LCD, i'm wondering if i'll be able to program the important commands into my pronto? If i can get the pronto to do power, input selection, volume, decoding (DPL/NEO:6 modes), and Surround Back modes (Auto, Matrix, Off) then I would be happy.

    Do any 4ES/Pronto owners know if this is possible?

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. NickSP

    NickSP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Stephen, congrats on your purchase of the 4ES. Its a tremendous receiver and you'll be very happy. I do own the 4ES and the TSU2000 and you can program each and every function of the Sony remote into the Pronto. You will be amazed to the level of customization the pronto will afford you. You just have to be very patient initially with the pronto as it just doesn't seem as quick as a remote with hard buttons but give it a week or so and you'll love it.
    BTW, I had sent you the "Flash" program, did you get it?
     
  3. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did get the flash upgrade. One more question... where can I find the serial number list of units that need the firmware upgrade?

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  4. David Smith

    David Smith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1998
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stephen, here are the serial #'s that need the upgrade.

    S/N 8800001 through S/N 8805418
     
  5. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  6. Shiu

    Shiu Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine's serial number does not look like this at all, Canadian models must have a different range of numbers.
     

Share This Page