What's new

Sony 40 inch XBR advice (1 Viewer)

Peter_Strz

Auditioning
This is my first time posting, so please forgive me if I come across as a moron in the audio/video world. I am looking at upgrading my TV. Currently it's a 27 inch tube, so moving up to the 40 inch XBR would be a huge improvement in real estate for me.

Here is some of my setup and some of my concern. I currently have a Sony DA555ES receiver that pumps out amazing sound to my 5.1 setup. So I am not looking for the TV that I get to have amazing speakers since I probably will have the TV's sound output muted. JVC Progressive Scan DVD player. From my understanding, I would notice the biggest difference between my current TV and the XBR with the 1080i output of a progressive scan DVD.

Here is my main concern. I have an analog cable signal coming into my home. I currently do not watch enough television to upgrade to digital cable. I plan on keeping my analog signal. Will this television magnify the flaws of the analog signal on this screen? Will the new TV look worse for my TV viewing than the current set I have now?

I guess I'm just looking for general opinions. Thanks in advance for the advice. Oh and if anyone has the patience to tell me what I should be looking for in a high end tube television, and explain terms to me, I would greatly appreciate it.

John S

Senior HTF Member
In a 40", I don't think you will have to much amplification of NTSC artifacts at all. You may want to try sending any Composite source as Svideo if it is an option.

Progressive scan DVD is 480p, not 1080i....

Your TV most likely offers this for DVD 480i sources anyways.

On the HDTV thing. I don't know what area your in, but I am getting 6 channels free off the air waves... Way way cool watching HDTV NFL yesterday, and for free! And digital audio too.. :)

John S

Senior HTF Member
On what to look for...

High quality 3 line comb filters
Lots of inputs and outputs
To HDTV tuner or not. (your choice)