Sony 32HS420 Rant

Discussion in 'Displays' started by MikeEckman, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. MikeEckman

    MikeEckman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sigh...I just need to vent. I bought a 32FS13 3 years ago and it recently broke, and I got it replaced under an extended warranty. I got a 32HS420 (HD) for only a $150 difference, and although I love the upgrade to HD, one thing I having a very difficult time getting used to is losing the top buttons for Video, Volume, Channel, and Power that Sony used to put on top of the unit. The way my entertainment center is, the old setup was SOOOOO convenient to just use those buttons on the top of the TV.

    Why oh why did Sony get rid of that feature??? Oh well, I feel better now, thanks for listening...
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rant heard, and empathy given... lol

    Mick was right... "You can't always get what you want"
     
  3. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Mike, you got a better diplay in the process so what's the big deal? Most people prefer to use the handset anyway, and Sony's are among the best. No need for a rant. That old FS-series WEGA couldn't do high-def.
     
  4. MikeEckman

    MikeEckman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know I got a better TV, Im just saying that I used those top controls a LOT to turn the TV on and off and to switch between video modes when I didn't feel like looking for the remote. It was a very convenient feature and I miss it. Thats all. I know I got a better TV, I just wish Sony wouldn't have gotten rid of it. It was one of those things that set them apart from the other manufacturers.
     
  5. Bill Will

    Bill Will Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a guess but I'll bet they moved the buttons off the top of the set because if you placed a Center Channel Speaker on the top of the set it might block the buttons or make them hard to get at. But maybe they could have put them off to one side on the top of the set?
     
  6. Adil M

    Adil M Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike,
    You won a lottery here and you are complaining about the price of the ticket.
    You keep going and I'll be questioning your manhood [​IMG].
    I'm sure you'll adjust and learn to use the remote.

    Welcome to the digital era in picture quality. I'd be complaining about how much money it is going to cost me to get matching equipment.
     

Share This Page