Somewhat newbie question...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dan Cabral, Jun 29, 2002.

1. Dan Cabral

Dan Cabral Stunt Coordinator

I've had my feet wet with home theater stuff for a while now, but I'm fairly new to the higher-end of home theater equipment. I've managed to put together a fairly decent system so far, and am extending into some better quality components now, which has raised a few questions. I'm just hoping to become more informed so I can make better decisions in where I can improve my setup, and what areas I should target for upgrade.

How important is the receiver if you're going to be connecting it to a good amp? Would a high-end amp compensate for a lower end receiver, or will a weaker receiver impede the potential of a high-quality amp? Which component is more critical with respect to good sound quality?

2. Ken Custodio

Ken Custodio Second Unit

I recently purchased an amp to go with my receiver. Which I thought would greatly improve the sound of my setup. The improvement was modest at best. It seems to me that adding an amp will greatly improve things if you have a big room and need to play at louder levels since you will have more power and cleaner sound at higher volumes. Buying a decent receiver with lots of inputs and all the bells and whistles (7.1, ThX-EX, DTS ES etc) might be a better choice for smaller rooms, or apartment/townhouses than buying a cheaper receiver and a good amp. But if you have a large room then an separate amp might do wonders, since you can use and reuse the amp as you upgrade the preamp or receiver.

I would recommend a receiver like the Denon 4802. Has very good amp section and a great deal of inputs.

But definitely a good separate preamp/pro will sound better on the same amp than a cheaper receiver. In particular for 2 channel music.

3. Dan Cabral

Dan Cabral Stunt Coordinator

Ken> Thanks for the info.