Some TiVo/DirecTV Questions

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Tim Holyoke, Oct 21, 2003.

1. Tim Holyoke

Tim Holyoke Second Unit

I'm starting to look into DirecTivo a bit. Prices on the 40gb models seem to have come down a lot, and me being a poor college student, I needed the prices lower than they were! But $100 w/$5 a month fee doesn't seem bad to me now.

So, my questions.

We have what is probably a 3-4 year old DirecTV system. It's the generic 2-room system they were selling for so long. I don't really know the specifics of it, just that it has 2 receivers, 1 of which we don't even use. That being said, do I need a different dish to use the DirecTivo? (I made the mistake of looking at them at BB, I was just browsing, but as always got attacked by an employee. Surprisingly, he seemed to know his stuff. He said I'd need 2 inputs from the satellite just for the DirecTivo, in order to record while watching a different program...is this correct?).

I guess it goes along the same lines as the first question, but I might want to add the other receiver to another TV. I'm assuming if I need both inputs for the Tivo receiver, I'll need a different dish if I want to add the 2nd receiver? Also, once I have the Tivo receiver, I'd have 2 unused (before adding the 2nd one to a different TV, obviously) - could I actually use BOTH of the other ones (since I've freed 1 up) to have a 3 room setup?

Assuming I need a different dish (especially if I have the 3-room setup), what are my options?

I would record a lot of shows from network TV, and DirecTV doesn't carry my local stations yet (they're saying April now), so I just have a roof-mounted antenna now, we get a decent picture with it. Would I still be able to record these with the DirecTivo?

One last question - the $100 Phillips DirecTivo at Best Buy, or the same deal on a Hughes model at Circuit City - is that a flat fee (minus the monthly fee), or are there special conditions for new DirecTV customers, etc.?