some thoughts on David Bowie's "Stage" on DVD-A

Discussion in 'Music' started by Aaron Reynolds, May 21, 2006.

1. Aaron Reynolds

Aaron Reynolds Screenwriter

Aaron Reynolds
    Let me start by saying that I'm a big fan of this album and have been for a long time. As a fifteen-year-old kid in 1989 with a brand-new CD player, I was looking for stuff to put into it. I came across the Bowie Sound+Vision boxed set (the original Ryko issue with the hybrid laserdisc on disc four -- that's what led me into laserdiscs) and bought it, basically without knowing anything about Bowie aside from Labyrinth, Absolute Beginners and his cover of Dancin' in the Street with Mick Jagger. Oh, and Tin Machine -- I was one of the six or eight people who bought and loved Tin Machine.

It took me a while to warm up to it, since it was so far away from what I expected to hear. However, I had only a couple of other CDs, so Sound+Vision got heavy rotation until I began to completely fall in love with it.

The stuff that I loved best was the material from Stage, and that was the first classic Bowie album that I bought. I've been listening to it steadily for well over a decade at this point.

When I heard that the album had been re-sequenced back to the concert's original running order, I was indifferent -- I had no qualms with how Stage flowed as an album.

I'm here to tell you that I was so totally wrong about that. The old version of Stage basically isolates the ambient pieces, and diffuses the set-to-set build-ups and climaxes present in the original sequence. The album, as a whole, is far stronger on the new version. In fact, the tracks that I'd frequently skip over (Sense of Doubt, Art Decade) are now integral to the show.

Let's talk about the mixes.