Some Questions For the Speaker Pros:

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by KennyHo, Apr 28, 2006.

1. KennyHo

KennyHo Auditioning

Hello, I have some questions for the speaker pros. Please bare with me as I am new to the home theater scene. My name is Ken by the way. I just joined yesterday and this is my first post. [​IMG]

Ok, here's the situation: I bought 2 Pioneer speaker sets. Each set comes with 2 tower speakers, 2 rear speakers, a center speaker, and a sub. The reason why I bought 2 of these is because I wanted 4 tower speakers (2 in the front, 2 in the back strictly for enhanced looks).

Problem 1:
    The speaker set does not come with a receiver. I will have to buy one, most likely a Pioneer 1000 watt receiver. After looking in the speaker set manual, it does not indicate how much power it can manage. It does have specifications listed in the manual, but no word on wattage. I have been told by the salesperson that it is 1000 watts. I contacted Pioneer USA myself to double check, and they say that each speaker is 100 watts? Will a 1000 watt receiver be compatible with my speaker set? If not, then how do I find out which one will work? Also, just to let you know that I live in an apartment, so there is no way of fully utilizing 1000 watts without any noise complaints, meaning I probably won't use that high of a wattage.

Problem 2:
    Knowing that I bought 2 speaker sets, I now have 10 speakers total. I would like to wire 7 of them into the receiver: 2 front towers, a center speaker, 2 rear towers, and 2 rear surround speakers mounted on the ceiling pointing down. My question is if the receiver has only 5 outputs (2 front, 2 rear, 1 center), would it be possible if I could double wire 2 speakers to 1 input? Will this downgrade the sound quality?

Thanks for all the replies guys! Glad to be here [​IMG]

2. JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin Producer