Some hook up questions for a new guy

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by JasonG's, Jan 17, 2006.

1. JasonG's

JasonG's Auditioning

Greetings all,

I am new to the home theater scene so bare with me. I recently bought an Onkyo 7.1 system and I want to make sure I'm doing things right. Everything is working right now except the rears (there not hooked up yet),so I just want to verify a few things.

I have component video cables going from my DVD player to my TV for best possible picture. I have S-video from by satellite box to TV(best hook up available from my satellite box)and digital coax. from DVD to receiver for sound. Question is, do I need component cable going to the receiver as well as an S -video to the receiver as well. The receiver has all available hookups but I thought the main job of the receiver is sound output not video???

The reason I'm asking is my instruction manual says some where along the lines as "whatever runs to the receiver needs to run to the TV as well"??

Thanks for any help. Also any thoughts or opinions on Onkyo?

2. John S

John S Producer

I think the manual is referring to if you send video to the reciever, that same video needs to go from reciever to display.

Your not switching any video that I can see through the reciever. Many, but not all 7.1 AVR's (recievers) have on screen programming, so you may want to run an svideo or composite from the AVR to the display as well.

Many people just run video to their display and audio to their reciever though just as you have done.

3. JasonG's

JasonG's Auditioning

Thanks for response John, One problem I have is that I have no extra S-video jacks or component video jacks left. My TV only allows hookup for one each. My receiver on the other hand has plenty but it doesn't do any good if there are no other available jacks. What is on screen programming? Thanks again [​IMG]

4. John Dirk

John Dirk Second Unit

____
    Hi JasonG's;