What's new

Some help please (1 Viewer)

CRSaab95

Auditioning
Real Name
Christopher Sanchez
I’m still new to the world of home audio. For the longest time I used a Sony out the box surround sound. So about a year ago I finally caved realizing I needed something more. Being on a budget I search for used equipment and found a pioneer VZX 820 K for 40.00, monoprice 10800 and 11948 for 10.00, Polk psw10 for 25.00. The only speakers I purchased new were a pair of Polk owm3 for 100.00 and compared to the Sony this sounded amazing to me!

So this year I decided to upgrade my AVR and ended up purchasing a Denon AVR-X1400H IN-Command 7.2. Hooked it up went through the calibration and was amazed with the added clarity this receiver has brought to my current setup. But with the added clarity the sub was now lacking and being I’m still trying to budget myself I found another psw10 for 30.00. While these are bottom of the barrel from Polk they are fine for “now”

Now during all this with all the sales going to I was also looking into the Polk signature series. I don’t have any experience with other major brands but between car speakers and the Polk sound bars I have in my bed rooms I’ve been a fan of Polk for a while. My original plan was to replace the monoprice 10800 with either the Polk S10 or S15 as I wasn’t looking into getting standing floor speakers.

Now this is where I have run into an issue. I happened to stumble across someone selling a like new Polk S35 center channel speaker and ended getting it for 80.00. After adding this speaker sounds keep becoming clearer. And the bass once again seems to be lacking. Now here is my question should I invest into a better set of front speakers over the small monoprice 10800 I currently have. I’m now looking at the polk S60’s hoping they will give me the mid-range bass I’m missing. Or invest into a better subwoofer? Which I’m looking into the SVS PB-1000.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave