So what are the basics to amps and preamps?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Adam Bluhm, Feb 12, 2002.

1. Adam Bluhm

Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

Okay. I'm pretty new at this. [​IMG] I've read about advantages to bi-wiring/amping and what not. Anyway, I think I'm not getting it because I'm missing some of the obvious material. Can someone take a second or give a link (or two) to some info reguarding the very basics to amps/preamps and what not?
    Very basics you ask? [​IMG] That may even include the purpose of the amps/preamps and where and what they hook up to. I'd like to learn about this end of HT.

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

A modern AV receiver combines the Preamp & Amp steps into a single box. Unlike in the 70's where you had to have preamp/amp systems to get good sound, the modern units are very, very good.

You can even hedge your bets by looking for a receiver that has "line-level" outputs. This allows you to later add a external amplifier and your receiver still does the pre-processor functions.

In a nutshell:

Your DVD player feeds video to the TV, and a Dolby-Digital bitstream to your receiver. The Dolby-Digital only needs 1 cable to carry 6 channels of sound. (Each channel carries the sound for 1 speaker).

The receiver decodes the digital into 6 analog signals. These signals are then sent to an amplifier which powers them up to drive speakers. You run speaker wire from "binding posts" to each speaker.

Sounds simple? It is.

It gets complex because not everybody has 5 speakers and a external sub woofer.

It gets complex because some speakers are large, others are bookshelf/monitor style.

It gets complex because not everybody sits in the exact center of a circle of speakers.

It gets complex because some people have CD players, VCR's, DVD players, DSS/satelite systems, & game systems

The "PreProcessor" handles all this complexity. The amplifier does 1 job: amplify.

Hope this helps.

3. Adam Bluhm