What's new

So, should I wait to buy my dream TV - and how long? (1 Viewer)

ericFD

Auditioning
I will soon (next 2-3 months) be flush with some cash, and am considering replacing my 10 year old 32" Mitsubishi TV. I recently upgraded my speakers (killer new SVS surround sound with SVS subwoofer), receiver (Harman Kardon AVR-240), and DVD player (Oppo upscaler). Very happy with all of these. But wow, does my TV look crappy now.

So, I am a bit of a novice regarding TVs. I want to make sure my investment is a good one, but I can wait if need-be if something good is coming down the pike.

I was all set to buy a Sony of some sort - either the A20, or the SXRD. But if some new 1080p sets are coming out (or have come out already) then I would be interested.

Someone please help me out here - will there be some "WOW" TVs coming out in the next few months, or is there anything out there now I should look at?

My budget is around $4000. Would like 50" or a little bigger - will be sitting 8 feet from the screen. Watch mostly movies and some TV recorded on a DVR (not HDTV yet, but will upgrade to it once I have an HD set).

Sal Vento

Auditioning
You're in the same situation as me. I'm leaning towards the Sony SXRD (currently, there'a a 50, 60, and 70 inch models available). Not sure what the price is in American dollars.

If you could hold out a bit, I believe Sony is releasing their 2nd generation models in July-August (unconfirmed thus far, should be announced sometime this month).

The new line has a 55" model. Like the current models, the TVs will have 1080p resolution but will also have 2 1080p compatible HDMI inputs. So the TV will not only be able to display 1080p content (through up-converting existing signal) but will be able to receive 1080p content through an external source (i.e. cable box).

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
You've already made the decision, you just don't know it yet...