So I turned on the heater at my house for the first time today...

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Kevin Alexander, Oct 15, 2003.

1. Kevin Alexander

Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

...and I got this horrible "burnt" smell that came out of the vents because of not being used for so long. Of course, I immediately turned it off; but what can I do so as to not have that unpleasant smell again. Is there a filter that I change, or is there something to clean? I'd appreciate some help. Thanks.

2. Eric_L

Eric_L Screenwriter

you should specify if it is gas or electric. My guess is gas.

I still have yet to need a heater as it is 90F in Florida today.

If it is gas I suspect the smell could be anything from mildew being heated up to corosion to water vapors caught in the system catching carbon. But I am no expert and am just guessing.

3. Malcolm R

Malcolm R Executive Producer

Malcolm
    I think it's just dust on the heating elements. Happens every year here in New England when we first turn the heat back on. Generally burns itself off after a few cycles.

4. Michael*K

Michael*K Screenwriter

Yeah, the smell will usually go away after you've had the furnance running a day or two.

5. Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith Supporting Actor

Its just dust like someone said. And you really should be carfeul as this is a way to start a fire. If you HVAC system is dirty enough with this dust and lint and other burnable items and your house is dry you could easily start a fire.

If you have a Central HVAC system there are access panels on it that you can open and clean the insides (Or you could hire someone to do it). Just make sure you shut off power to your system first. Clean them out real good a couple of weeks before you expect to need to use the heater. This should eliminate any chance of a fire starting and will minimize the smell, but won't get rid of it completely.

6. David-S

David-S Second Unit