What's new

smaller speaker systems.... (1 Viewer)

Angus

Auditioning
Hello all...
I am new to this hifi chat system. I just picked up a Yamaha rxv-3200 and a Denon 1600 dvd player. I am going to have to add a surround sound system soon. My living room is not a large one, and the best layout would be a system that has smaller speakers that I could mount on the wall...at least the front/center speakers, the rears I could use stands. Anyway, I currently only have two speakers...I have had a set of Bose for 15 years. They have worked fine. Bose has a surround system that I am sure everyone is aware, and that size of speaker system is along the lines of what I am looking for. However, I understand there is a large Anti-Bose following for reasons I am not entirely clear (again, I am new to this forum), and would appreciate any opinions on any systems that could be recommended.

Thanks.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Basically, and I will try not to flame BOSE, the product they put out costs FAR more than what it is actually worth, while at the same time not delivering sound quality of similarly priced, and often even less expensive, speakers. This is, of course, regarding the tiny cubes.

If you are going to spend that kind of money on a DVD player and receiver, they why waste it on a set of BOSE speakers?

Small, frequency limited speakers simply do not cut the mustard. This is a fact, not an opinion.

One thing you haven't mentioned is your price range.

MatthewK

Stunt Coordinator
As an alternative to BOSE that are still relatively small in size and many feel have far superior performance are the Energy Take 5.2 series speakers.

Check them out... I think you will agree that they are a step up from the BOSE satellite speakers and that they still satisfy your size criterion.

Matthew

Jonathan K

Stunt Coordinator
Also, Axiom Audio would be nice... really, look at those last two links of mine, they are very educational...

Angus

Auditioning