What's new

Small Subwoofers (1 Viewer)

BryanMM

Grip
I apparently can not fit my PB1 ISD into my dorm room, so I need to buy something smaller. Are there any good subs that are relatively small and cheap? How is the HSU STF-1 or how about the JBL E150P? I don't want it to to be too loud and intrusive by the way.

The room is 11 x 13.5 by the way.

BryanMM

Grip
$300 maybe? I'm a poor college student. :frowning:

I think it's too late to return my PB1.

Robb Roy

Supporting Actor
Bryan,

Going from that sub to something smaller can be disappointing. Have you looked at the new PB-10? You could sell your PB1, get the PB-10, and make a profit.

Of course, any of the Hsu subs would work very well in a dorm situation, and if space is a premium, that could be the way to go.

-Robb

Robb Roy

Supporting Actor
I think Wayne's suggestion, especially if you want to keep your current PB1 until you have the space, is a marvelous one.

-Robb

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
Bryan: based on personal experience, in a dorm situation ANY subwoofer is going to be loud & intrusive, especially if you don't live on the ground floor. The subsonic frequencies in particular will go right through the walls/floor. So unless your mains use 4" or smaller woofers and/or everyone living around you including your R.A. is deaf, personally I wouldn't bother with a sub at all.

But if you absolutely gotta/have-to-have a sub, look for one with an 8" woofer. I know that sounds anti-HT but we're talking community living here and this size won't have so much of the subsonic stuff to piss-off other students but will still have solid 40Hz+ bass for movies and music. And, they can sit in the corner or under a bed pretty easily. And fit into a car more easily at moving time when the end of the semester rolls around.

For example, Velodyne and Infinity make subs this size, IIRC both under $300 and IMO both sounded good--just none of the "rumbly stuff".