Small 2-channel amp for bass-shakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Kincade, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. Kincade

    Kincade Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi all; I'm having a hard time here finding the amp I need. I don't have enough rack space for another receiver or 8" tall amplifier. And the way I'm going to wire them will necessitate running 2 channels, 4 shakers on each channel, at a 4 ohm load.

    Alternatively, I could run 2 plate amps in a box but I have no idea where I'd put them...

    Is there an inexpensive, fanless, small 2 channel amp out there that I could use? What would you recommend?

    TIA,
     
  2. Chris Brock

    Chris Brock Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would say to look out on ebay or audiogon for a Adcom GFA535. it will do everybit of 100w x 2 @ 4ohms and can be found for just over $100 if you are patient.
     
  3. Kincade

    Kincade Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chris,

    Thanks for the heads up; I noticed it doesn't have gain controls though; how would I control the levels?
     
  4. Daman

    Daman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kincade, Im using 4 shakers and am using a parts express subwoofer amplifier to power them which is working pretty fine and the amp is pretty small so that one can tuck it in anywhere. You might want to check that out.
    Daman
     
  5. Kincade

    Kincade Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Daman,

    Thanks for the info; did you build them a box, or just set the amp on the floor?
     
  6. Daman

    Daman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are welcome Kincade.The Amp came with a box enclosure itself (see the link of the pics of my HT setup)so i didnt need to build a box for it.
     
  7. Kincade

    Kincade Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aaaah, I see; you just set it on the floor... Good idea!

    Nice HT!
     
  8. Daman

    Daman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page