Slot 1 mobos

JohanK

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 22, 2000
Messages
478
I have a slot 1 P3 chip/heatsink assembly. I would like to buy a mobo to install it on and use the computer for web surfing and other general type material. In particular, I'm looking for an ASUS P3V4X mobo but I cannot find a vendor that sells this mobo. Anyone know where I can obtain one of these boards?
If I cannot obtain a slot 1 mobo, is it possible to install my P3 chip on a socket 370 mobo and obtaining a heatsink/fan assembly for such a mobo?
Thanx for any guidance you can give.
------------------
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
 

JohanK

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 22, 2000
Messages
478
Arthur, I found the Tyan Trinity 400 which has a socket 370 AND a slot 1 (only one can be used at a time). Thanx.
------------------
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
 

Rob Gillespie

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 17, 1998
Messages
3,632
Tyans are generally regarded as good, solid mobos. But they can be picky with other hardware, especially graphics cards.
 

JohanK

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 22, 2000
Messages
478
Rob, I was planning on using a 16MB AGP(4X) vid card using the RIVA/TNT2/Vanta chipset (mfg. is Jaton). Have you heard of any difficulties b/t TNT2 cards and Tyan mobos?
I'm not looking for a state-of-the-art computer but am hoping to throw together a decent machine for very little money by buying a mobo and using other parts that I already have.
Thanx.
------------------
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
 

Rob Gillespie

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 17, 1998
Messages
3,632
Johan, I'm only commenting from my own experience with a Tyan Socket 7 board and what I've seen on AnandTech.
The S7 board (very highly rated, btw) refused to cooperate with my Matrox G400Max. After mailing Tyan, I got a response back saying basically to forget it because it was a 'chipset issue'. Wrong, it was a Tyan issue. An FIC board with the same chipset worked perfectly well with the Matrox. I didn't really put much faith in them after that.
The TNT2 was a popular card so you're less likely to have problems. If you want to be sure, send Tyan a mail and ask them. I only found out about my incompatibility after I'd paid for the board. There was no info on their site at all.
 

JohanK

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 22, 2000
Messages
478
Thanx for the advice Rob. I'll email Tyan and see what happens.
------------------
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
 

Darren Lewis

Supporting Actor
Joined
Jul 17, 2000
Messages
534
You'll be able to get a Slot-1 motherboard second-user, especially at online auctions such as EBAY. I picked up a Tyan Trinity 400 from there not so long ago - very good motherboard.
------------------
My HT My DVD Collection
 

JohanK

Second Unit
Joined
Jan 22, 2000
Messages
478
I ordered the Tyan Trinity 400. I now have another buddy who wants to trade my 667 slot 1 P3 for his 800 socket 370 Celeron. Would you do it?
------------------
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
 

Darren Lewis

Supporting Actor
Joined
Jul 17, 2000
Messages
534
Depends what you use you PC for. The Celeron is a good chip for general business usage - Word etc. It's not so good on graphics.
Personally I'd stick with the P3. 667MHz isn't slow

------------------
My HT My DVD Collection
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
344,860
Messages
4,722,572
Members
141,346
Latest member
akhenax