What's new

Sky High Review (1 Viewer)

Chuck Mayer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chuck Mayer
Well, I felt like seeing a film. And while Stealth looks like trash of the highest order, I could not cope with actually sending my money that way on opening weekend. I had to send a message.

I chose to send it to those who would cast Kurt Russell, Kelly Preston, and Bruce Campbell.

Whether you've seen Sky High, you've already seen Sky High. Catch my drift? That's not a bad thing, as Sky High travels a well-worn path with nary a misstep and a few tricks.

Starting with the adults (the film is really about the kids), Kelly Preston is still a stunner. Age has granted her a sexuality and presence she didn't have when I started my crush on her in Twins :) She looked a bit silly in the costume. As a realtor, I'd buy anything from her. Kurt Russell has a simple role, but he handles it well. I consider him an acting treasure who rarely gets the appreciation he deserves. Lynda Carter, Dave Foley, Kevin McDonald, and Bruce Campbell provide some laughs for the grown-ups during the hijinks that ensue.

It's your bog standard high school film. The hero never gets too cool (though they play the subplot, it's against him, not with him), and you know every twist well before it arrives. But the kids are game. I especially liked the kid who glowed. Charisma and adolescent charm, and he has the best moment in the film. But you've probably seen it in the trailer. Completely non-power related.

That said, the movie might have played stronger (and quite a bit differently) if the hero had never gained his powers. And still saved the day. I think I'd have preferred that myself.

I won't go into the costumes, effects, and direction. They are average at best. The cast carries the film amiably.

Not a bad romp (7/10),
Chuck

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member