Sirius in 2003 Caravan...have questions.

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones / Entertainment' started by Stacey_V, May 22, 2003.

  1. Stacey_V

    Stacey_V Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've recently bought a 2003 Grand Caravan ES. This model comes with the "RBU" head unit, which contains the following:

    Built in single CD
    AM/FM Radio (obviously)
    Built in cassette
    Built in DVD (yay!)
    Remote control, and dual headphones for rear passengers
    and lastly, this unit is Sirius "ready"

    My question is this:

    What else is required to make this radio pull in Sirius radio? I've done some research, and I think I know what's needed. I am going to have to order in the parts, and until I know for sure what I need, I'm hesitating. This hesitation stems from the fact that I'm in Canada, and the required parts must be brought in from the US of A.

    My thoughts:

    If the head unit is Sirius ready, then I should need a Sirius tuner, and antenna, and some sort of install kit for the works. I've checked Chrysler's website and have come up with the 2 parts.

    82206488AA Sirius Satellite Radio Receiver and Antenna Kit: includes receiver, permanent mount antenna, owner's manual, and activation information. Vehicle specific installation kit is required. For use with Mopar and production radios only.

    82207779 Sirius Satellite Radio Installation Kit: for vehicles w/DVD or CD Changers, includes I-sheet, templates, wiring harnesses, antenna cable, multiplex connector, mounting bracket, and hardware

    Has anyone attempted a similar install in an OEM equipped vehicle? Any other ideas that I may not have thought have?

    I appreciate any and all replies!

    Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. Josh J

    Josh J Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you got the right parts but I would call Sirius before you go through all the trouble to make sure you can receive the broadcast in Canada. I think all they ever advertise is its broadcast to the lower 48 states and 2 miles off the coast. I'm sure it'll still work but I would still check.
     
  3. TheLongshot

    TheLongshot Producer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should work in Canada. I know people in Alaska that can get Sirius, so Canada probably wouldn't be a problem.

    XM probably would be more problematic, since their satelites are around the equator...

    Jason
     
  4. BobV

    BobV Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 1999
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You won't have any problem with receiving Sirius in Canada. We've sold Sirius as far north as Destruction Bay, Yukon, as far east as St.Johns, NFLD and as far west as Long Beach, BC... and they're still workin' fine [​IMG] . You won't have any problem, no doubt in my mind.
     
  5. Diallo B

    Diallo B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with Bob.

    I live in Michigan and drive to Toronto a few times a year and I have never had trouble getting reception with Sirius during the trip or while I am in Toronto.

    djb
     
  6. BobV

    BobV Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 1999
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Remember though Toronto (about 44º lat) isn't even as far north as Seattle (about 47º lat). So Sirius and XM should both work in Toronto absolutely [​IMG] . Just for comparisons sake, Destruction Bay, Yukon (where I can confirm Sirius working) is at about 62º north latitude, or more than 1200 miles further north (in the far west) than Toronto [​IMG] .
     

Share This Page