Simultaneous 6 and 2 channel output?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Reg_C, Feb 23, 2006.

1. Reg_C

Reg_C Auditioning

hello...i'm a forum newb & joined just for the purpose of asking this question, as i seem to be unable to find a solution on my own...so, here goes...hope all of you experts can shed some light for me :)

i'm setting up a home theater system for my mother (such a good boy) & trying to integrate it into her existing multi-room speaker setup. She watches movies, but mainly, this is designed for surround audio. I was hoping to be able to send multichannel output to her living room while sending a stereo source to her speaker switchbox that sends the signals to the other four rooms.

my problem is doing both at the same time. i have tried three dvd players (a yamaha, a pioneer and a phillips) and 2 receivers (yamaha and harmon kardon), but the problem always seems to be the same: in multichannel mode, the front satellites in the living room switch off & the signal gets sent to the other rooms. it seems i'm having a hard time getting any dvd player to send both multichannel and stereo signals out simultaneously, even through a multi-zone receiver.

so, ive looked for a 6-to-2 channel switchbox w/ no luck & am basically stumped now.

i've tried digital & analog out from dvd player, both with the same results.

so, here's the meat:
    is there any way for a dvd player or reciever to downsample a multichannel source to stereo & send to speakers "B" while still sending 6 discreet channels to speakers "A"?

thanks in advance,
    Reg

2. JeremyErwin

JeremyErwin Producer

hmm. The following solution is pretty kludgy,

Connect the dvd player up using both the stereo analogue jacks and the spdif/toslink jack, but route spdif to the "DVD" input, and the analogue to some other input "CD", perhaps. Play DVD on Zone1, and CD on Zone2.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John