What's new

Simple solution - skip this format (1 Viewer)

Robert Holloway

Stunt Coordinator
Having bought close to 1000 DVDs, 300 Laserdiscs and 100 VHS I have decided to skip a format

In case you think I'm a newbie I'm not. I have a high end projetor set up involving JVC SX21 and anamorphic lens onto Da-Lite Power 120" screen and a fuu range 7.1 speaker system backed up by 2 REL Stentors. I'll be buying the Pearl or Ruby later this year

I will wait to receive HD on demand

I simply cannot be bothered with collecting into yet another format that may not even be the standard

I'll probably buy both HD DVD and Blu Ray players at about $500 each when they are available and continiue to use Netflix

The format I need is HD on demand

I cannot believe how screwed up this new DVd format really is. Do they really expect me to collect these B grade titles yet again?

Roll on HD VOD - it's coming and makes this format war irrelevant?

Rob

Seth=L

Screenwriter
Real Name
Seth L
The holographic technology being used as a storage medium period is one of the best ideas I have seen. Cost of production is currently to high, but when they get that down it will open up a whole new world of amazing technological advances, just think of what our own government could be up to with all this, scary huh?

Edwin-S

Premium
Senior HTF Member
I think you would have to have widespread point-to-point fiber networks (including home connections) in order to make HD VOD viable. I don't think widespread fiber optic home connections are going to be showing up for quite a few years yet, so a disc-based HD medium is still required. HD disc could still be viable even if there were HD VOD services, because there are a lot of people who want to own hard copies of movies. They are not likely to swarm to a download model that would likely be a pay-per-view system. I know that I, personally, have absolutely no interest in net delivered video on demand. I prefer to own pressed discs of movies and music.