Simple Question about splitting component cables

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JamesH, Jan 10, 2002.

  1. JamesH

    JamesH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have heard that it is possible to use an RCA Y splitter so that you can connect 2 component cables to one input(well 3 splitters). Is this true, and if I do it, will I get much degredation of picture quality?
     
  2. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats a really bad idea. You want to purchase one of the switchers that will pass through only 1 signal at a time.

    Splitting 1 output to go to 2 input devices is at least safe. But you are combining 2 outputs together.

    Forget signal quality. Heven help your equipment if you power both of them up at the same time. At a minimum you will get a crappy (ghost/distortion) image. At the worst, you will damage the output of one/both of your sources.
     
  3. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    For the best solution, you may want to look at products like those made by Key Digiital, www.keydigital.com. A cheap solution may high isolation A/B switches like those that Radio Shack may sell.
     
  4. JamesH

    JamesH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think there may be a bit of misconception about what I am trying to do here. I just need a cheap way to hook 2 sources up to one input because I just got an HDTV, and only one of the component inputs supports progressive scan. I will be hooking up an Xbox and a gamecube. I don't plan on turning them on at the same time. I just don't want to go behind my TV every time I want to play a game in progressive scan.
     
  5. brucek

    brucek Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 1998
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    James,

    Nope, I don't think there's any misconception. The answers given are quite correct.

    This is a 75 ohm interface. If you connect (short) two outputs together through a reverse RCA splitter there will still be quite a few electrical components from the "unpowered unit" remaining in the combined circuit, whether both units are powered on or not. This can easily damage one or both components.

    And guaranteed if both units are powered on, you'll have no joy.

    You can't do this....You must go through a selector switch (as suggested already).

    brucek
     
  6. JamesH

    JamesH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for clearing that up, I understand now. I wasn't thinking about the video signal traveling back up to the unpowered source. I am still in a bind though. I checked radio shack way before I started posting here, and the closest they have is an S video selector. All I need is a simple 2 component switch, but I haven't been able to find one. All my online searches have ended up with products capable of what I need, but with extra features that push the cost upwards of $100. If there is a cheap way to do this that an average person could assemble, please let me know.
     
  7. Wayne Clark

    Wayne Clark Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1999
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    James,

    that S-Video switcher will also switch a composite video and (left/right) audio channels. if you use the three RCA jacks as your component inputs and output, that should work. There may be some signal loss because I'm not sure this switching device is capable of the full bandwidth of the component cable, but it will work.

    Wayne
     
  8. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He's right. You can just get any 'cheap' A/V selector. I have a Sony that cost $13.00 - so let your breath out and go out and get one! They work great and there is NO signal degradation at all.

    Glenn
     

Share This Page