What's new

Simple(?) DIY sub question (1 Viewer)

JonahWicky

Stunt Coordinator
After reading thru these posts until my head was spinning, I decided to go forth with my first DIY sub project. I'm an accomplished woodworker, so building the enclosure is not an issue. Unfortunately, I have no experience in building a speaker. I'm planning to use the Tempest in a sealed box based on the Adire plans, with the PE 250W amp. It will be used primarilly for movies, since my main speakers are a pair of Genesis IIs with an 8" woofer and a 10" passive radiator, which give me plenty of bass for music.

My question is this...do I need any other parts or components for the subwoofer, like a crossover or equalizer? It seems too simple and cheap with just the driver and an amp!

Jeffrey Noel

Screenwriter
Jonah, Welcome to the Forum! :D
It's really pretty simple building a sub, that's why the 95L Shiva + PR will be my first DIY project.
You really don't need a crossover, because if you connect the amp to your receiver's sub out, it will do that itself. You also have one built into your amp, I think.
As for an equalizer, don't buy one until you build and test your sub in the location that it will stay. When you do this, you will need a tone generator or a bass CD and an SPL meter from Radio Shack. Play a test tone and see what it reads on the meter. Graph this out from 100hz down to at least 20hz. When you have it all graphed out, there may be some humps or dips in the graph. This is when you would want an EQ such as the Behringer Feedback Destroyer, which can "tame" these humps, making the graph closer to flat.
Hope this helps some.
I'm sure many more knowledgable DIY'ers will chime in here in a bit.
Best of luck!

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam