Silly question - WHY is coax not capable between cable box and TV?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Matt-MW, Jan 1, 2006.

1. Matt-MW

Matt-MW Auditioning

Ok, Silly question time for my first post here:

If the coax cable is fine enough to carry the 300+ channels the 250 feet from the cable distribution box, down the street, into my home and then to the cable receiver... why isn't it good enough to carry the one selected channel the remaining 5 feet from the cable receiver to my HDTV? Why does it now take a $50 HDMI (or $100 from monster)?

I understand shielding and pure gold connections and all the rest (I am an Electronics tech with 17 years experience), it is just that we are saying that the very same cable that brought the signal to the box is insufficient from taking it from the box to the TV...

Anyone have a good explanation for me?

Thanks,
    Matt

2. Dan Burch

Dan Burch Agent

Matt,
    I'm not an expert, but I asked this question a few weeks ago in the Display devices forum. Although I called if a stupid question. The answer I received was that it really all about copy protection, not signal quality. I read a article in Popular Mechanics that basically stated that along with HDMI is a copy protection program. Devices on both sides of the cable must have it to work. DVI converted to HDMI may not work because of this copy protection. That's all I know hopefully someone else can clarify.
    Dan

3. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi Matt. Welcome to HTF! [​IMG]

And no, that's not a stupid question - it's one that many people dont think about when some salesman is trying to sell them 6 ft of a $$$ wire that tacks on the end of hundreds of yards of CATV coax.

CABLE TO YOUR HOUSE:

This wire carries 3 kinds of signals:

- RF Analog CATV channels
    - High Def digital channels
    - (perhaps) Digital internet signals

The CATV box represents a "tuner" that lets you pick 1 channel out of all the others.

CATV BOX TO THE TV: