What's new

Silly question time...Why HTPC? (1 Viewer)

SamC

Agent
I have seen some posts about using a PC within a HT, and am wondering who, what, when, why etc??

I know alot of people use a HTPC for watching movies and this is not something I want to do, but what about the tweak/processing side? Do people use them for processing signals and so on or am I totally confused?

My reasoning is that I work in IT, and have a number of computers at home that I don't often use (combo of new & recent, not old). I could put one into the HT if there is a benefit.

Thanks for any help,

Sam

Duncan Barth

Stunt Coordinator
You can do quite a bit with a HTPC... it really depends on what your needs are.

Most people use them as a combined DVD/CD/mp3/whatever. player.

With the right hardware, they can act as a TiVo-like network recorder.

If you have a projector, HTPCs really shine. There is some very good (and free) software out there that lets a HTPC act as a very high quality line doubler/scaler/deinterlacer.

And finally, you can do the obvious PC-type tasks (games/web surfing/etc.) in ones home theater.

The technology is still pretty bleeding edge, but you can get quite a bit of bang for the buck if you're willing to put in some effort. And the nice thing is you have a box thats potentially customizable to operate the way *you* want it to.

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
HTPC for watching movies and this is not something I want to do
Seems like an odd choice when you can get the picture quality of a $35,000 scaler out of a $1200 HTPC. To each his own, I guess.

In addition:

-you can use it to scale external sources (with the excellent, free Dscaler).

-completely custom resolutions for Projector/HDTV owners: dial the sweet spot of your set

-region free playback, PAL, no layer changes

-Ability to use it as a PVR, and even record HIDEF programming

-MP3 playback, VCD playback