Shows that look good in HD?

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Doug^Ch, Jan 12, 2006.

1. Doug^Ch

Doug^Ch Second Unit

I don't know if this is the right place to post this question. I am a HDTV newbie. While I have had a television capable of High Def for sometime now, I just decided to get a HD signal via a cable card. Here are my video observations so far: The nature shows and travelogues are mind-blowingly clear, and it is better than real life. NCIS was shown in HiDef last night, and I was less than impressed. Do all network shows look this mediocre in HD? What defines HD? Do shows have to be shot with HD cameras to look incredible? Most of my TV on DVD looked better in standard def than this episode of NCIS in HD. If this is a reflection of what TV on Blu-Ray will look like, I will not be rushing to buy one anytime soon. Any comments on this issue would be appreciated. I'm trying to learn.

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

(I split this off from the NCIS thread because it was more of a general HDTV topic)

NCIS isn't one of the better shows in HD, there are better shows to watch in HD on TV: Try CSI (pretty much any of the 3 are good) and Without A Trace. There other CBS offerings, like Friday night's lineup (Ghost Whisperer, Close to Home, Numb3rs) are pretty good. For some reason, NCIS is one of the worst looking shows in HD. Maybe there's some video conversion going on that makes it look as it does.

ABC has good stuff too, like Lost, Invasion. NBC's Monday lineup is good (Surface, Las Vegas, Medium).

3. Doug^Ch

Doug^Ch Second Unit

Thanks for the information Patrick. Unfortunately, my area is way behind on the HD bandwagon with no over-the-air HD available, and only one CBS and PBS affiliate in HD on cable. I will check out CSI tonight to see how it looks.

4. Tim Jin

Tim Jin Supporting Actor

Discovery HD and HDNet.

Over the air broadcast HD channels looks the best. They are not trying to compress every bit through Cable or Satellite.