What's new

Should I set my Denon2802 to automatically detect Matrix EX and DTS-ES? (1 Viewer)

Grady Hollums

Second Unit
Real Name
D.G. Hollums
I have it set to automatically detect any DD-EX disks of DTS-ES Disks, but I thought that Harry Potter was a DD-EX disk, and yet all it says is Dolby D.

How do I force my Denon 2802 to be in Matrix mode (i.e. DD-EX)?

And if I do force it into that mode what will the display say?

Thanks for all your help and assistance!

Robert G

Stunt Coordinator
Hmmm. I am not sure. I am new to the EX & ES world. I just got my 3802. When mine is set to automatically detect EX it will decode even non EX material into 6.1. This is what it does on Harry Potter. I do not think that the Harry Potter disc is lableld properly because my 3802 does not see it as EX material but as I said before it decodes the 5.1 into 6.1 on it's own. Maybe someone with more experience will come along.

Grady Hollums

Second Unit
Real Name
D.G. Hollums
Robert:

What does your Denon display when you are viewing Harry Potter?

Does it say "6.1" or "Dolby D" or "Matrix EX"?

I hear sound out of my rear speakers, but the display says "Dolby D" I just want to make sure that my receiver is putting the sound into a Martixed EX, and not just Dolby Digital 5.1. Thanks!

WesleyHester

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
John Hester
Grady, first check out this link:
http://www.docdvd.com/exdvds.shtml
As you can see from this list none of the Dolby 5.1 EX discs have flags to tell your receiver to switch except Atlantis. I have the same "problem" with my Onkyo - it's set to auto but I haven't come across any flagged EX discs. A good example is Harry Potter: encoded in EX but without a flag.
DTS-ES Matrix is another story, my Onkyo does allow for ES detection to be set to AUTO. As you can see from the list again, only 3 discs have ES Matrix flags (I personally know they DO work though). Again, without the flags you'll have to set the mode manually like EX.