What's new

Should I match woofer and tweeter sensitivities? (1 Viewer)

VinhT

Second Unit
For my DIY satellite speakers, I don't have the technical know-how to build my own crossovers, so I'll be buying pre-made ones from Parts Express. Since using a stock crossover means I can't add little resistors or whatnot to customize the output of the drivers, I've become concerned that the tweeter may become overbearing. Should I attempt to find woofers and tweeters with the same sensitivity levels to achieve a more uniform response level? Also, do wattage rating differences matter as well (like if the woofer is 40W, but the tweeter is 80W, etc)?

Thanks for any input.

Travis G

Stunt Coordinator
I'm not sure because I have never tried. Infact I have never built any fullrange speakers, although I plan on doing so as soon as I can afford to. For now I am still learning. I think you would be hard pressed to find a woofer as sensitive as most tweeters. You will need to use an adjustable L-pad. This is not a gain control. Your XOs will not opperate properly if you just add a variable resistor. An L-pad attenuates the high-pass section without altering the impedance seen by the amplifire.
FWIW, I would get a kit with an XO pre designed for the drivers. There is no such thing as a universal crossover, and the generic ones do not take into account many driver/crossover interactions that can affect the sound quality drastically. You can alternatively pick up a copy of the Loudspeaker Design Cookbook and learn about designing XOs. It's not brain surgery but it's not exactly easy either. If you choose to go this route be prepared to do alot of homework. David B. Weems wrote a book I read that was a little less complicated than the LDC. I think it was called "Designing and Building Your Own Stereo Speaker Systems".