What's new

Should I match my old speakers for surround sound or buy new system? (1 Viewer)

Raj_Thiara

Agent
This is my first time posting. I was given a pair of Paradigm Reference Studio/40 speakers (they are very good) as a wedding present last year from some friends who are audiophiles. I am now at the stage where I am considering setting up a surround sound system in my new place. I've heard it is best to have all 5 speakers (for 5.1) to have equal quality but money is a bit of an issue given the expense of these speakers. The question I have is would it really make that much of a difference if I got some reasonably priced but decent rear speakers to go along with the Paradigms or should I just keep my Paradigms for music purposes and buy one of the surround sound package systems (and if so, some recommendations).

I do like to have good sound but am not into upper-tier Home Theater systems at this point due to financial constraints but these will be expected to ease in about 3 years so I don't want to waste money on something I will be immediately junking at that point in time either. All suggestions are welcome.

Brian L

Senior HTF Member

There are lots of folks enjoying their systems with mismatched speakers. I was one until recently, when I tracked down some used B&Ws (a center and surrounds) to match my B&W mains.

Now that I have a matched set, I can say without question that I really do agree with all the suggestions out there that matched speakers make a big difference.

For me, its not such a big deal for movies, since the action on the screen tends to distract you from the discontinuity between your mismatched speakers, but for music (I have a MC hi-rez player, and listen to a lot of DVD-A and SACD discs), its a BIG difference.

At the end of the day, you need to do what you have to do. If you don't yet have the coin for a matched set, buy what you can and don't sweat it. You will still enjoy the system.