1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Should I get the Infinity HTS 20 package?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Lanny_B, Oct 2, 2002.

1. Lanny_B

Lanny_B Second Unit

I'm pretty new to all this. I just got back from Circuit City, and I was about sold on getting the Infinity HTS 20 package (you can see a link to it here).
    But, the one response I've gotten about them is that they are just okay, and I should try some JBL speakers. I did a search for the infinity's, and haven't found anything. Maybe I'm searching under the wrong thing.
    Anyway, the speakers at the store are $569.00. For that price, should is there something else I should go with instead? I was about to go in and pick them up in a day or so, but I'll wait and order them on the internet if that would be the smarter decision. Any tips or thoughts on these speakers would be great.
    Thanks.

2. ColinM

ColinM Cinematographer

$569 ($600)
    Look at JBL at JandR.com, etc.
    N24 $120 a pair, shipped.
    N26 $150 a pair shipped.
    N28 $130 a pair, shipped - Best deal
    Look here
    Add a Center -
    S center 2 $180
    N center (Best match for the N series, I think..) $99
    And a sub - Sony's SA-WM40 is as good as the Infinity, and can be had for ~ $150 on the net.
    So -
    N28 x 4 = $260
    N Center 2 = $100
    Sony Sub = $175?
    Killer set that may be better than the Infinity. Larger, though. I've never heard the infinity, and I'm just going on appearance / reputation. There's a reason you can't find too much info on the HTS20 kit, no rave reviews. The JBL's though have a really good rep.
    If I had $500 of my friend's cash to spend, there it goes.
    Good Luck.

3. Geoff L

Geoff L Screenwriter

I gota go with Collin on this one!