should I buy the ENERGY TAKE 5.2 speaker package?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Leon_R, Nov 11, 2002.

1. Leon_R

Leon_R Auditioning

Ok, I am a college student and can´t buy 2000 dollars on a pair of speakers... so many people have recommended me the energy satellite speaker system. Anyone know about these? Are they worth it? Also, I plan on buying a subwoofer for these satellites speakers. I am choosing VELODNE. Should I buy the 8 " sub or the 10 " sub? Will the 8 be to weak or will the 10 be to overpowering for the satellite speakers? Some people tell me that I need a powerfull sub due to the fact that I don´t have floorstanding speakers but satellites ? others tell me it my overpower by satellite speakers? what do you think?

2. Paul Clarke

Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

Get the Energy 5.2's and the 10" sub. You will be fine. Are you in a dorm?

3. Leon_R

Leon_R Auditioning

paul: well, my room is not small nor is it big . The only problem is that my house is surrounded by too many windows and the floor has no carpet, so I guess I will get used to rattling....
    Also, you heard anything about these speakers? and sub?

4. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

every review i've ever read about the take 5.2 system has been good. this system is always on the top 10 or best-value type lists.
    i've never heard them personally, but if you go by general critical consensus...you can't go wrong.
    all the awards are on the official website:
    http://www.energy-speakers.com/take5...rs_system.html

5. Martin Rendall

Martin Rendall Screenwriter

I have the first version, and I think they're great. They will not satisify for critical 2 channel listening, but for HT, they are wonderful!