1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Should I Buy a RPTV Knowing I'll be Moving at Least Twice?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael Brunet, Jul 24, 2002.

1. Michael Brunet

Hello all -

I'm about to take the plunge and upgrade from an old 27" Sharp TV to a 53" Panasonic, but first I wanted to get people's opinions on whether I should be reluctant to buy knowing that I'll be moving in the near future.
    My situation: I am now a graduate student, will be moving in two years for my first job, then likely making another move five years later (possibly cross-country) to a permanent job.
    My brain tells me that I *should* wait on such a nice (and expensive) TV until I settle down somewhere permanently, but that will likely be 7-10 years from now, and frankly, I don't want to wait that long.
    Long story short - how sensitive are RPTVs? I obviously will keep the original packaging, and place the set carefully in any moving van that I am driving.
    What would you do?

Thanks,

Mike

P.S. I know that this seems somewhat anal - thinking this far ahead - but if I'm going to shell out $2K, I want my TV to last for a while....

2. LawrenceZ

LawrenceZ Stunt Coordinator

Michael -
    I've moved mine, 55" Toshiba, once, 300Km or 160 miles from Edmonton to Calgary, and it wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be. I just wrapped it up with plenty of packing blankets and cardboard corners and then loaded it in the corner of the moving van with the screen facing the wall (wouldn't back anything to bang the screen if something should fall). I was extremly nervous about it since I had only had the set for six months but everything turned out fine. I'd suggest having two or three friends to help if you have to move it up or down stairs though.

3. LanceM

LanceM Auditioning