Should I buy a Mitsubishi WS-65413 or WS-65511?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Brian Simmons, Apr 10, 2004.

1. Brian Simmons

Brian Simmons Auditioning

I apologize for asking what may be a dumb question. I will admit I am new to this. The prices I am looking at are about $2700 for a Mitsubishi Silver Plus WS-65413 or last years Mitsubishi Platinum WS-65511 for $2300. I am told this years model of the Silver Plus has updated Projectors, net command 3 (which I don't care about) and probably some other features that last years model doesnt have. I like the physical tv case on the platinum much better, but the overall quality of the picture is most important to me. I don't believe the Platinum has DVI inputs either. Which I don't even know what DVI is used for, I just know its something people recommend to look for. Cost is not a problem to me, but if I can save some money and still have a nice TV it would be fine with me. Anyway if some of you people could give me what you recommend buying and maybe a reason why I would greatly appreciate it. When I am on a forum relating to something I am more familiar with I definitely help people out. In this case I am just completely clueless. I know nothing about Rear Projection TV's and half of the features/options to look for. Thanks in advance!

2. Robert_J

Robert_J Lead Actor

Robert
    The 65511 has a built in ATSC tuner for OTA HD while the 65413 doesn't. This did not matter to me since I went with DirecTV as my HD programming source and all of their recievers have ATSC tuners built in.

The 65413 has DVI which is good for the newer STB's and will be needed if/when programmers throw the copy protection flag. It also has individual color adjustments for both component and composite/S-video inputs. The 65511 can only adjust the inividual colors for the composite/S-video inputs. I have a red push on my component inputs (55411) until I either get a pro calibration or get brave enough to mess with the service menu.