What's new

Should I buy 480p or 720p (1 Viewer)

SummyD

Stunt Coordinator
Hello! I am thinking of buying a projector for my new basement home theater. I'd be using a 92" or 106" screen. Based on the reviews, I like the Infocus 4805, which is 480p. It seems to be priced nicely, perhaps because of the fading technology. The Infocus 5000 seems to be 720p and is about 300 bucks more. So,

1. In general, is 720p a lot better than 480p and worth spending the extra few hundred dollars?
2. How do the 4805 and the 5000 models compare?

Thanks!

Brian Osborne

Stunt Coordinator
buy the 720p. While I have no personal knowledge of the Infocus projectors, I can tell you that you will see a big difference when you are looking at that large a screen.
There is 1.5 times as many vertical lines in 720p and more than twice as many pixels. It will result in a sharper image and less screen door effect when watching lighter images.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
I agree with buying a 720p projector, especially with HD-DVD players coming out, and HD programming. But I would not buy the Infocus 5000. It has not gotten very good reviews. What is your budget for projector?

Evan M.

Supporting Actor