Shiva vs. Titanic MK II, need help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jerry DeWitt, Jan 20, 2003.

  1. Jerry DeWitt

    Jerry DeWitt Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking at building my first subwoofer and I need some help. Which would be better for my application, Shiva or Titanic MK II, sealed or ported design? Here is a list of my equipment:

    Room size is 12'-6" x 21' x 8' high

    Reciever is Pioneer Elite VSX-24TX
    Klipsch KSB1.1 front and rear
    Klipsch KSC-C1 center

    I plan on buying the Partsexpress 250watt plate amp

    This system would be 50/50 music/HT

    Your help would be appreciated for a newbie DIY!
     
  2. Andrew Pierce

    Andrew Pierce Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Real Name:
    Andrew Pierce
    Shiva is cheaper, Titanic will likely perform (slightly) better. A ported design can likely extend lower with flat frequncy response in a smaller enclosure, while a sealed design can sound 'tighter' or more 'musical'.

    Download a copy of WinISD or another box designer program and model your sub prior to building. You can see the effects of different drivers, enclosure styles and sizes, and more.
     
  3. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't rule out the Stryke Audio AV-12 either (unless you
    don't want to spend $175.00 (John may still have them for
    $140.00 I am not sure, you would need to check the order
    form on the web site)

    But if you don't mind spending a littler more, it will out
    perform either mentioned and it's a well built sub (as are
    both the Shiva and the Titanic..)
     
  4. Walt Park

    Walt Park Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you decide to go with the titanic, keep in mind that Partsexpress pretty much routinely keeps one on ebay. Right now it's at $109 (12"), and the reserve has been met. If you get it on ebay, it will be cheaper than the shiva, or the stryke.

    Another thing to note is that the titanic is not a dvc, but the shiva is. Not sure about the stryke. If you're using the PE plate amp, it might not matter to you.
     
  5. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes the Stryke is a DVC

    My Stryke is not a DVC because TC Sounds sent out the first
    batch with one 4Ohm VC but the current models are Dual 2Ohm
    VC's

    I figured one [email protected] worked for me because I was just
    going to wire the dual 2Ohm VC's series for 4Ohm anyway...
     
  6. Ryan Schnacke

    Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With 250 - 270 watts and a typical vented enclosure it looks like you're just about reaching the maximum potential of the Shiva (or the Dayton DVC for that matter). The Titanic has about the same sensitivity as the Shiva/DVC so you'll probably get about the same amount of output but will be a little less likely to bottom it.

    The Stryke AV12 certainly has an excursion advantage. But every sim I've run shows the AV12 to be less sensitive than the other drivers mentioned. So with "only" 250 - 270 watts you'll actually get less output and won't get anywhere near the excursion limits. You really need to push more power to see the benefit of the AV12.

    I could definitely understand buying the Titanic/Stryke just for the extra bit of durability, cast frames and tinsel leads woven through the spider to prevent lead slap. Plus you can upgrade to more power in the future.
     
  7. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. Ryan Schnacke

    Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. I know a guy here in Dallas who's building an AV12 sub - 4.5 cu ft tuned to 18Hz powered by the 300-794 amp. So hopefully I'll get to see for myself pretty soon.
     
  9. Bryant Brunner

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. Andrus_R

    Andrus_R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    actually, Stryke 12's need at least 500 watts RMS.
     
  11. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Andrus,

    Dude.... They don't "NEED" 500 watts RMS.. RMS simply stated
    is the actual thermal power handling the voice coil can
    properly handle (dissipate heat) continious.

    The Sub hardly NEEDS 500 watts continious, a good 150-250
    Watts Is more than an AV-12 will need in most alignments.
     
  12. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  13. Peter_A_M

    Peter_A_M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I played the THX Subwoofer test on my AV12 in an inefficient alignment at about 3/4 volume gain, my father rushed in my room to figure out why the doors and windows in the next room were shaking and rattling. The 250 watts of the AVA250 is much more than enough for my 2100 cubic foot room - I can't imagine anyone would need more for similar rooms and alignments.
     
  14. Jack Gilvey

    Jack Gilvey Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 1999
    Messages:
    4,948
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess the key here is the room you're trying to fill. I've only got ~1400 ft^3 to worry about.
     

Share This Page