Shiva passive sub

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Bhavesh, Mar 7, 2004.

1. Bhavesh

Bhavesh Stunt Coordinator

Hi everyone. Great forum!

I'm new to DIY speaker building, but I have access to woodworking tools, soldering iron, etc.

I live in South Africa, so when it comes to importing a subs from HSU or SVS, etc. the shipping costs are just a killer. Plus I don't want to fork over the equivalent of a 10-day overseas holiday to Bali for a sub. So I've decided to go the DIY route.

Basically I'm hoping to achieve the performance of the $125 Dayton 10'' assembled sub or better with my DIY project. I have a budget of US$ 250 which includes shipping of the driver to my home; as that is what it would cost me to get the Dayton 10'' plus a 220V transformer from PE, or to buy a Sony WM500 locally.

I have a Pioneer VSX-D812 receiver to do the bass management and the lowest setting on the LFE crossover is 100Hz. It has a sub pre-out.

I'm really interested in the Shiva Mark IV subwoofer driver and the reference designs are another plus.

I have an old Sony Mini Stereo sitting around doing nothing, rated at
    105+105 watts DIN (8 ohms at 1kHz)
    130+130 watts RMS (8 ohms at 1kHz, 10%THD)
    that I'd like to use to power a passive sub made using the Shiva. Is this a good idea?

My room dimension are:
    Room Length: 15 ft
    Room Width: 13 ft
    Room Height: 9 ft

The usage will be 60% HT, 40% music. I'm more interested in lower extension than higher SPLs.

Are the sub kits with all the accessories from Adireaudio worth getting too?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to your responses. Any other driver suggestions using Partsexpress drivers etc. will also be welcome.

After a days web-surfing, I'm leaning heavily towards the 85L vented design. I'm just a bit worried about how to do the wiring when it comes down to it.

2. Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth Supporting Actor