Sherbourn Diff btw 2/1500A and 2/5210?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Guyza, Oct 19, 2003.

  1. Guyza

    Guyza Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone point out the differences between the older Sherbourn 2/1500A (5x200W) and newer 2/5210 (5x200w) amplifiers?

    I've poked around on Sherbourn.com and couldn't really come up with a difference list.

    Both have 5 independent channels internally but there must be some significant difference to bump up the model #.

    Thanks,
    Guy
     
  2. Jigesh Patel

    Jigesh Patel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read somewhere that 5/5210 is more conservatively rated and is closer to 220Wpc or so. 5/5210 is expandable to 7/2100 as both share the same chassis. 5/5210 has four bridgeable amps (not sure about 5/1500A). Probably auto-on trigger is different as well. Sonic characteristics are likely to be the same (my guess only; as I have not tried 5/1500A).
     
  3. Dan Driscoll

    Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    2
    The correct part numbers are 5/1500A and 5/5210. Jigesh is correct that the 5/5210 can be upgraded to the 7/2100 and that the 5/1500A is not bridgable. I'm not aware of any difference in power output.

    The only other significant difference is that the 5/1500 and 5/1500A models are Class A/B, while the 5/5210 is Class G. For an explanation of amplifier classes, look here.
     
  4. jason-celaya

    jason-celaya Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know if it possible to swap a rack mountable face plate on a 5/1500 for a non-rack face?
     
  5. Dan Driscoll

    Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm sure it is possible, the question is, how difficult will it be? There are no screw or bolt heads on the front panel, so it has to be fastened on the inside. I've never opened the chassis on mine, so I can't tell you how accessible the fasteners are. However, since it was offered with 2 different front panels I suspect it wouldn't be too hard to swap them.
     
  6. jason-celaya

    jason-celaya Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sent a email to Sherbourn. I will post if I get a response in case anyone else is in the same situiation
     

Share This Page