Sharpvision XVZ9000U, is this a GOOD Price???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jack Smith, Aug 9, 2002.

1. Jack Smith

Jack Smith Agent

$7,495.00 shipped UPS. It's from a longtime internet business. I must confess, I have no experience with projectors and am thinking about purchasing without seeing the product in action, just depending on the rave reviews. If I do this, it will go in my basement which is approximately 14 feet wide and the distance from the screen to my seating position is 16 to 20 feet. I want a screen size of at least 110-inches. Does anyone know anything about this projector model and can the DVD and Directv/Microsoft units be 20 feet away (by connector cable) from the projector? Also, what is the best type of wire connection? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Rest of system:
    Cinepro 3k6II amp for three front speakers
    Cinepro 2k5 amp for four rear surrounds
    SVS sub (pair)
    Klipsch RF7(s), RC7, RS7(s), RF3(s) center surrounds
    Monster Z2 speaker cables
    Denon 5800
    Proscan 60-inch rptv
    Sony S7700 DVD
    Pioneer dts/dd LD
    Monster Z and M series interconnects
    JVC svhs

2. Doug_B

Doug_B Screenwriter

Sharp provides a tight reign on the authorized dealers for this pj, and I am almost certain that no Internet dealers are authorized. Thus, you will probably not have a valid warranty from Sharp if you go this route.

Doug

3. Jack Smith

Jack Smith Agent

I did ask about the factory warranty, and this dealer confirmed that it would be valid with the sale. it seems to be the rock & hard place routine. Is it a good price for a non-gray market item?

4. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    For a 110" screensize you will need a mounting distance of approx 14-15ft from the screen and yes, 20ft cables are feasible running form the projector to your equipment. I am using 20ft cables (component and s-video) in my setup.

5. Dave K

Dave K Extra