Sharp 9000?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Al Spencer, Aug 24, 2004.

1. Al Spencer

Al Spencer Auditioning

I'm a newbie to the fight. I really like the forum. I have a question that hopefully some of you can help me with. I have an opportunity to get a Sharp 9000 that was a demo unit with low hours plus a new bulb for $4500. Is this a deal or with newer technology that's out, would it be better to go withsomething less expesive (such as the Sanyo Z2 or Panasonic 500 or the Sony HS20)? I know these are different technologies being DLP vs LCD but I just want to know your thoughts Thank you any help you can give.

2. Craig W

Craig W Second Unit

I although I am sure that the Sharp 9000 has some more features like lens shift I think you would be better off to get a Benq 8700 with the HD2+ chip which would be about the same price maybe less if you get a great deal.

The Sharp 9000 has HD1 which was the first HD DMD.

3. Kevin_Kr

Kevin_Kr Supporting Actor

Al
    Where at?

4. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    There are many newer pj's (some of them better) that are at a cheaper price range than the 9000 was/is.

5. Al Spencer

Al Spencer Auditioning

Thanks for your reply. I had established a good relationship with a sales manager at a town I used to live in. It's a local AV specialty store there.

6. Al Spencer

Al Spencer Auditioning

Craig,

Thank you for your reply. I had looked into the Benq 8700 and considered it, but I have been unable to demo it. I was wondering about it's performance because it seems projectorcentral.com gave it a few mixed reviews. What are your thoughts?

7. Al Spencer

Al Spencer Auditioning

Thanks for your reply.

8. Craig W

Craig W Second Unit

Al,