Shadowy "banding" on PTH5498, any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert_Powers, Sep 27, 2002.

1. Robert_Powers

I just bought an Akai PTH5498 HDTV this past week and I've noticed when watching dvd's that during some scenes that horizontal lines of shadow and light streaks begin moving up and down.I suppose this is what is called "banding" or "ringing"?I was hoping some may know if a service tech can fix this problem or does the unit have to be replaced?

It's still under warranty and Akai told me that a service tech should be able to probably fix this, has anyone else had this problem before and if any had it on a Samsung/Akai?And if so have you had it fixed by a tech or not or can it be fixed at all?

Sorry if it's not explained too well I'm a newbie to all of this.:b

2. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer

How high are your contrast and brightness settings? Sometimes this layering/banding phenomenon can be reduced or even eliminated by taming the white and black levels. Try that first.

3. Robert_Powers

EDIT: Fixed [​IMG]
    I bought a Panny RP62 and the lines are now gone. I suppose the interlaced Pioneer DVD353K was the problem. Now with the progressive scan player the lines never show up.

4. Mike_Berrien

Mike_Berrien Auditioning

Robert,