What's new

Setup and CD questions (1 Viewer)

HowardGjr

Stunt Coordinator
Help..I just completed my first home theater purchase.

1. Gallo Micros (5) + Gallo Sub.

2. Integra 6.2 DTR Receiver

3. Integra 7.2 DPS DVD Player

4. Outlaw ICBM-1

I'm a novice so I apolgize if any of these questions are naive. If you are in doubt as to wheter or not I understand something, you can assume I probably don't. :D

Here's my questions:

1. Since I'll be using the audio connections from the DVD to the ICBM than to the receiver for DVD Audio, does it make sense to have the DVD player do all the digital decoding and set all of the inputs from the DVD to directe mode on the receiver? I think the 7.2 has better DACS, but other than listening to both setups, I'm not really sure how to go about determining the difference.

2. From what I understand DVD players are not designed to play continuously. Since I want to use the system to play music, would purchasing a dedicated CD Player solve the problem? If so, can I have recommendations for a relatively inexpensive (< $500) CD player that plays SACD? (Miles Davis' Kind of Blue is available in that format and that's my personal favorite album.)

3. I found this in one of the fourum responses.

Unfortunately, I don't remember which post I got it from.

Radio Shack makes an A/V switch box that works very well. The part number is 15-1952. It is only $15 and is available on www.radioshack.com and in Radio Shack stores. The switch box has two sets of inputs and one output. Each input and the one output has three RCA jacks (red, white, and yellow). I use two of them to switch between multi-channel DVD-Audio and multi-channel SACD since my Sony STR-V444ES receiver only has one set of 5.1-channel inputs. Here is how I have the switch boxes set up:

Box 1

Input A: DVD-Audio front left, front right, center

Input B: SACD front left, front right, center

Output: front left, front right, center to receiver's 5.1-channel inputs

Box 2