What's new

Setting up the Kenwood HTB-504 (1 Viewer)

TommyB

Stunt Coordinator
Yesterday I purchased the Kenwood HTB-504 HTIB (I've seen a lot of discussion about this product on the board and people looking for it - Sears is closing them out for $430, if you store is out of them, you can order online and have them ship it to your nearest location).

I am relatively new to home theater and have a question regarding speaker set-up. I am currently running a pair of Pioneer S-H452F-K for the front speakers. I was going to use the front speakers that came with the HTB-504 for my surround, but they are a little too big to put on my stands. My question is, can I connect the Kenwood fronts to the B speaker output (system has A/B switching) and if so, where should I place them, in front of the listener or behind the listener? If I do put them behind the listener, is this going to screw up the 5.1 sound I am trying to acheive? Also, is connecting the extra speakers going to push the amp too hard, and will I have loss of sound to the other speakers?

Another thing, I purchased RCA Digital Audio Cable (gold plated) for the digital connection between my DVD and receiver. Is this the correct cable to use, or do I need cable that specifically says coaxial? When I play a DVD with DTS or Dolby Digital, the respective lights show on the receiver, so it seems to be working.

One more question in this already too long post...how much of a difference will it make upgrading to a $50 Monster Cable subwoofer cable? I am currently using the cable that came with the sub.

Thanks in adavnce for any help.

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Yes you got the right cable

You should place the speakers facing in to the center of the room and slightly behind the listeners. You shouldn't have a problem with the speakers, except that Pioneer and Kenwood speakers may be ofa different timbre, meaning that they might sound funny being used together (different manufacturers, different timbre)

steve nn