What's new

Setting Up Surround Sound Query (1 Viewer)

electrochyld

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris
Hey guys.. bit of a surround sound newbie here, just looking for some advice on my setup at home!

I am currently running a Samsung 37" HDTV with 3 HDMI ports and a digital audio out ( optical ) port.
My 5.1 speakers are connected into my Samsung HT-THX22 DVD Home Cinema System, which has an HDMI output, component output and an AUX audio input.

On top of this I have a Virgin Media V+HD Box with SPDIF port and HDMI ports, as well as my XBox which has an HDMI port and a component port.

What I am looking to do if possible is to have all three ( DVD, V+HD Box and Xbox ) through my 5.1 system and if so, what would be the best setup to have?

Would I need an AV receiver to be able to run all 3 or would it be possible to connect the V+HD Box to my Samsung TV via optical cable and run the other 2 through HDMI?

Any advice at all would be appreciated guys, as stated above I am quite a newbie to this home theater setup so go easy on me :P

Cheers!
-Chris

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Hi Chris - welcome to the forum!

What you've discovered is the biggest drawback to many "all-in-one" systems - a lack of expandability. In your case, since the DVD is integrated into the unit, you have a complete lack of video inputs to go along with only 1 audio input.

What most people try and do to work around this is to run all their devices into the TV, then run a digital audio cable from the TV to the surround sound system, however this doesn't really work most of the time. TVs don't preserve the digital surround sound from external sources before the audio is output, so at best you get simulated Dolby Pro Logic surround sound derived from the stereo output of the TV, or at worst, your TV won't pass any external sourced audio at all.