What's new

Setting Up HDR On Apple TV 4K (1 Viewer)

Jeff Adkins

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Sep 18, 1998
Messages
2,655
Real Name
Jeff Adkins
I have aquired an awful lot of 4K movies in my iTunes digital library, but I've never set it up (nor my Samsung TV) for HDR. I attempted a couple of times to change the setting in both my display and ATV4K and it never looked right. It was usually either washed out or it looked too dark. I'm wondering if there aren't some other settings that need to be configured in the Samsung TV itself. It's not capable of Dolby Vision (unfortunately), only HDR10. Years ago, I used to consider myself pretty savvy with this kind of stuff, but I've never quite figured this one out.

My second question is if I were to get it looking right, will the ATV4K automatically adjust for non-HDR viewings or will I need to toggle that every time?

Thanks in advance.
 

Cranston37+

🇺🇸
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
3,037
Real Name
Patrick
I have aquired an awful lot of 4K movies in my iTunes digital library, but I've never set it up (nor my Samsung TV) for HDR. I attempted a couple of times to change the setting in both my display and ATV4K and it never looked right. It was usually either washed out or it looked too dark. I'm wondering if there aren't some other settings that need to be configured in the Samsung TV itself. It's not capable of Dolby Vision (unfortunately), only HDR10. Years ago, I used to consider myself pretty savvy with this kind of stuff, but I've never quite figured this one out.

My second question is if I were to get it looking right, will the ATV4K automatically adjust for non-HDR viewings or will I need to toggle that every time?

Thanks in advance.

The settings you want on the ATV4K are:

Format: 4K SDR
HDMI Output: YCbCr
Chroma: 4:4:4
Match Dynamic Range: On
Match Frame Rate: On

The 4K SDR thing sounds counterintuitive but it WILL play HDR and it's what you want.

Not sure about settings on your Samsung, but one thing I always forget it to make sure the HDR is turned on for the specific input you are using. The default is usually off.
 

Jeff Adkins

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Sep 18, 1998
Messages
2,655
Real Name
Jeff Adkins
The settings you want on the ATV4K are:

Format: 4K SDR
HDMI Output: YCbCr
Chroma: 4:4:4
Match Dynamic Range: On
Match Frame Rate: On

The 4K SDR thing sounds counterintuitive but it WILL play HDR and it's what you want.

Not sure about settings on your Samsung, but one thing I always forget it to make sure the HDR is turned on for the specific input you are using. The default is usually off.
Thank you! I will give this a shot!
 

dpippel

Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Premium
Joined
Feb 24, 2000
Messages
9,915
Location
Sonora Norte
Real Name
Doug
The settings you want on the ATV4K are:

Format: 4K SDR
HDMI Output: YCbCr
Chroma: 4:4:4
Match Dynamic Range: On
Match Frame Rate: On

The 4K SDR thing sounds counterintuitive but it WILL play HDR and it's what you want.

Not sure about settings on your Samsung, but one thing I always forget it to make sure the HDR is turned on for the specific input you are using. The default is usually off.

So Robert, you’re saying that with a 4K display capable of HDR10 (and in my case Dolby Vision), you set the ATV4K to output 4K SDR?
 

Cranston37+

🇺🇸
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
3,037
Real Name
Patrick
So Robert, you’re saying that with a 4K display capable of HDR10 (and in my case Dolby Vision), you set the ATV4K to output 4K SDR?

You would be correct! But I'm not Robert so I'll let him fill you in more ;)
 

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Supporter
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
14,532
Location
A Mile High
Real Name
John
=
So Robert, you’re saying that with a 4K display capable of HDR10 (and in my case Dolby Vision), you set the ATV4K to output 4K SDR?
That is correct. What Apple doesn't explain is the Output setting is how it displays the menus. There's really no reason to have the menus in HDR, and they don't tend to look very good anyway. The "Match Dynamic Range" setting allows the ATV to output HDR for the media itself, then it switches back to SDR for menus.

The Match Frame Rate setting is only valuable if your TV has 120Hz or higher scan rate, so it can switch to 24fps when that's available. If the TV has a 60Hz frame rate, it can't switch to 24fps.
 

dpippel

Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Premium
Joined
Feb 24, 2000
Messages
9,915
Location
Sonora Norte
Real Name
Doug
Ah yes! It’s been so long since I set mine up I’d forgotten about this little idiosyncrasy with the ATV4K.
 
Last edited:

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Moderator
Patron
Joined
Dec 9, 1998
Messages
52,785
Location
Michigan
Real Name
Robert
So Robert, you’re saying that with a 4K display capable of HDR10 (and in my case Dolby Vision), you set the ATV4K to output 4K SDR?
That's correct as John and Cranston stated. Just reading this thread gives me flashbacks on the number of hours for several days that I spent last summer playing around with my ATV4K units in my office and main HT setups. I learned a lot, but, it could be frustrating and I really feel sorry for many people that probably still don't have their units properly set up.
 

DaveF

Moderator
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
24,984
Location
Catfisch Cinema
Real Name
Dave
The Match Frame Rate setting is only valuable if your TV has 120Hz or higher scan rate, so it can switch to 24fps when that's available. If the TV has a 60Hz frame rate, it can't switch to 24fps.
AppleTV doesn’t actually “match frame rate”, it only interpolates?

Because a 120Hz display is not needed to match to 23.976 Hz blu-ray output. It’s only needed for simpler interpolation to 120Hz frame output. And even then that’s really for those that prefer the Soap Opera Effect over waiting on HDMI sync delays (a particular annoyance notably for JVC projectors).
 

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 13, 1998
Messages
13,523
Location
Central Arkansas
Real Name
Johnny Angell
AppleTV doesn’t actually “match frame rate”, it only interpolates?

Because a 120Hz display is not needed to match to 23.976 Hz blu-ray output. It’s only needed for simpler interpolation to 120Hz frame output. And even then that’s really for those that prefer the Soap Opera Effect over waiting on HDMI sync delays (a particular annoyance notably for JVC projectors).
Heavy sigh. Some days I miss adjusting the rabbit ears to get the best picture. ;)
 

DaveF

Moderator
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
24,984
Location
Catfisch Cinema
Real Name
Dave
???

That means 4k aTV does or doesn’t do frame rate matching?

I thought it did — pretty sure my HD model does. (For people with projectors with 10+ sec sync times, I understand using interpolation instead of syncing. I’d probably do the same. But otherwise, recommending soap opera effect on HTF seems like recommending pan and scan over OAR.)
 

Cranston37+

🇺🇸
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
3,037
Real Name
Patrick
???

That means 4k aTV does or doesn’t do frame rate matching?

I thought it did — pretty sure my HD model does. (For people with projectors with 10+ sec sync times, I understand using interpolation instead of syncing. I’d probably do the same. But otherwise, recommending soap opera effect on HTF seems like recommending pan and scan over OAR.)

Yes, it does.
 

DaveF

Moderator
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
24,984
Location
Catfisch Cinema
Real Name
Dave
But that doesn’t require a 120Hz display, right?

maybe “Match Frame Rate” means the opposite of what it says and should be set off, unless you’ve got a super long sync display...or prefer SOE?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
347,109
Messages
4,802,861
Members
141,997
Latest member
merrickw
Top