What's new

Setting up first Home Theater system with older Panasonic SA-HE100 receiver (1 Viewer)

Hornplayer

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve
Hi all. I'm a newbie here, trying to set up a Home Theater system with an older Panasonic SA-HE100 receiver I've had sitting around for years. I've had it playing through a pair of Bose 901 speakers recently, and they sound great. But recently got some Klipsch R14M speaker to attach to the other inputs:

* Front center (Klipsch R14M)
* Front Left&Right (Bose 901s)
* Left&Right Surround (Klipsch R14Ms)
* Single Back Surround (Klipsch R14M)
* Subwoofer (SVS SB2000)

The Boses still sound good, but so far I haven't gotten a sound out of any of the Klipschs yet, don't understand why. The SVS SB-2000 powered subwoofer is coming in next week, receiver has a separate subwoofer output, we'll see about that.

It's not a super-system, but it fits in the budget I have.

I'm curious: How does the receiver come up with all these separate channels? The input is a simple stereo cable from the Sony Bravia 55" LCD flat screen TV, while the TV gets its input from a DIrecTV Genie box. The DirecTV box has an HDMI output to the TV. But the Panasonic receiver has no HDMI inputs or outputs. ALL the audio inputs to the receiver have the same simple 2 channels, right and left. How does it manage to produce six different channels into the speakers?

I've noticed that other, more modern receivers like the Yamaha RX-V385, have several HDMI inputs, where my receiver has none.

Does an HDMI output from the cable box, or from a Blu-ray DVD player, carry all six of these audio channels, when playing a movie that has them? If so, how do you know which movies have them?

Thanx all!

Last edited:

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John