Setting Dipole distance

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ChrisGlass, Apr 11, 2002.

  1. ChrisGlass

    ChrisGlass Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just reading and article on the Anthem AV20, it states

    "Surround and rear speakers can be designated as Dipoles, in which case no delay is used for them."

    Is this true for setting the delays on all recievers and pre-pros? Should I be running my ADP-170's dipoles off my Onk 575x with 0 on the rear speaker distants set-up?

    Chris
     
  2. Ned

    Ned Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting question. I have the ADP-170? also. Currently they are set to their approximate distance. Hmmmmmmm
     
  3. ChrisGlass

    ChrisGlass Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ned
    I thought that question might intrigue somebody. Nice to see another person from "The Big Smoke". Went to your site, nice setup. How do you like those B&W's (Like I have to ask[​IMG] I read that little passage form Stereophiles Guide To Home Theater and it caught my curious bone. I have my ADP's set up about 6 ft up and about 4 ft from the sweet spot. I tried changing the distance last night and actually seemed to sound better, not louder, just seemed to open things up a bit in the surrounds. If anybody else has any theories about please help.
    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  4. Ned

    Ned Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    The B+W's are ok [​IMG]
    I'll try setting distance to zero tonight. Mine were set to about 6' in the receiver. IIRC, 1' = 1ms of delay. So if the dipole bounces off the front wall, that could add around 15-25ms of delay depending on the room. I have been noticing that my dipoles are sounding a bit "detached" from the sound. Maybe it's just a case of too much delay.
     

Share This Page