1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

set-top-box quandry

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sean Patrick, Apr 14, 2002.

1. Sean Patrick

Sean Patrick Supporting Actor

i am new to hdtv and need some info about set-top-boxes.

the TV i'm getting will only have one progressive component input but one of the models i'm looking at will also have a VGA input. I hear that some boxes have VGA output - will this solve that problem?

Also, receivers like the DTC-100 that are integrated satellite/OTA HDTV receivers - do i have to activate the card in it? I already have directv with two directivos and won't be buying an elliptical dish anytime soon for just a couple of HD stations.

Also, are there really any big differences in these set-top-boxes? the prices all seem to be the same.

thanks in advance for this dumb question.

2. RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv Stunt Coordinator

Sean:

There are lots of differences between boxes, but they are mostly minor. Some people can find those minor differences very annoying, though. For example, some people find fan noise bothersome, and some don't hear it. Some people think the advanced program guides are very important and some don't. Despite what a lof of people say, I don't believe there is much difference in picture quality if your TV is properly calibrated for HD signals. Since there are no test materials in HD, this is not necessarily an easy thing to accomplish. There is probably some difference in how well the receivers fix on an OTA signal.