Set of Paradigm questions

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by William_Gravem, Aug 23, 2004.

1. William_Gravem

William_Gravem Stunt Coordinator

Hi,

I'm brand new to the wonderful world of home audio, and I am trying to learn as much as I can before I make my first time purchases, so I hope nobody will be upset if I post 2 or 3 naïve questions. Please excuse me if these posts are too lengthy.

I bought an Onkyo 601 receiver (6.1, 85 watts per channel) and now am trying to find speakers within my budget for a 5.1 system. I listened to the Paradigm Ref. Studio 40's and I loved the way they sounded. Paradigm seems to have great speakers per dollar. The salesman at the store, however, warned that I may not have enough power for them with my receiver. Is this true?

Also, the only place I can put rears (more like sides in this case) in this far-from-ideal room is about 2-3 feet behind, and fairly high on the wall. The back of the room opens into a dining room. Is it true that the ADP's would be a poor choice for rears because of this, and I would be better off with a pair of Atom's that I can aim with the wall-brackets?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

---Bill

2. PaulDA

PaulDA Cinematographer

Paul