What's new

Serious Questions about DS595 and PLII. (1 Viewer)

Hi guys, I just have a couple questions about My Onkyo TX-DS595 and Pro Logic II. Keep in mind that I am extremely new to HT. I have never heard DD, DTS, or pro logic until I got my gear about a month ago. My concerns are about Pro Logic II. I heard all these wonderful things about it and was very hiped from what I heard. Now that I have it, I realize that it is not all that great at all. Actually I think it is so bad that I am starting to believe something is wrong with my receiver so I would like to heard from other Onkyo DS595 owners on this topic.
1-PLII music sounds much, much, much lower in volume than the dsp mode all channel stereo and other dsp modes such as studio mix, etc.
2-PLII when I listen to tv broadcasts sounds like total crap. I can really only hear sound out of the center channel and nothing else. If I turn the center channel down to -12db and the right and left channels up to +12db then I can heard the right and left channels but not much. I though that PLII was surpose to be wonderful for TV programs?????????? I really only use the dsp mode TV Logic because I can hear sound out of all speakers. If this matters, I only have basic (not digital) cable run through a cable box.
3-PLII sounds ok with my PlayStation 2, but still not as loud as all channel stereo or some of the other dsp modes.
4-PLII sound really good with my VCR movies. I can hear sound out of the center and also out of all the other speakers, however I still have to turn the volume up about halfway to get a decent volume. Is this normal?
5-With the DS595 I have noticed that the first half of the volume control doesn't increase the volume as much as the 2nd half. If this doesn't make sense, think of it this way. The volume increase from 30 to 40 isn't as great as the volume increase from 40 to 50. Is this normal????