Seperates verse Integrated Receiver????

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Scott Lavery, Feb 17, 2004.

1. Scott Lavery

Scott Lavery Auditioning

Hello Everyone,

I’m a newbie to this forum and was hoping for some professional advice. My set up consists of a Great Room with the following equipment.

VS-6041 Mitsubishi Big Screen TV, 2- JBL 412P 4 way Powered Studio Series speakers for the Front Left & Right, 2-JBL S-38 Bookshelf speakers for the rears, Pinnacle center, Audio-Source SW Fifteen sub. I introduced a Rotel RB-985 MK-II Five Channel Power Amp to my Pioneer Elite VSX-26TX Receiver that just bit the dust after only 4 years and 2 months. After reading about the known problems with this Pioneer Elite Receiver,I am at the cross roads of the separates verse integrated amp receiver debate. I am leaning toward going all separates, and was hoping for some input on a suitable pre-amp that will work well for my application. Rotel’s new RSP-1098 is very tempting but pricey for me at this time, so I am considering the RSP-1066, which is more within my budget. Is staying with Rotel a good decision since my amp is also Rotel or will another brand be just as suitable? If so, any recommendations???????

2. Grant B

Grant B Producer

On the whole seperates are more expensive but they tend to be of higher quality.
    My preamp weighs almost 70 pounds; more than most receivers - that says alot about the build quality.
    People upgrade all the time and there are some great deals on used equipment. Then in a few years time if you save your nickels and dimes you can upgrade yourself.

3. Chester II

Chester II Stunt Coordinator

Scott dude,

Uh...dude, if you already have a separate amplifier (and a very good one) then you should totally get the RSP-1066. Purchasing a new receiver with integrated amplifier would be a large SIDE-step in my opinion. I have the Rotel RSX-1055 which I totally LOVE but I would be even more in love with the RSP-1066 and RB-985 combination.